Young Embryologist Network (YEN)

About us

Young Embryologist Network (YEN) is an academic body aimed at improving communication in the developmental biology research environment for Doctoral Students and Post-Doctoral scientists based in the UK and Europe. Together every year we organise a conference in London, on the subject of developmental biology.
Go to Learn skills

Learn skills

Joining the YEN community is an amazing opportunity to learn multiple skills on how to organise and promote a conference

Go to discuss SCIENCE

discuss SCIENCE

Join us at YEN 2018 to hear and discuss about science with other young scientists like yourself in a relaxed environment

Go to NETWORKing

NETWORKing

Being part of the YEN committee allows you to make and develop contacts that might be useful for your future career

Attendance-only registration to the YEN 2018 conference will close in..

-105Days 00Hours -29Minutes -36Seconds

Join us at our next conference on the 14th of May at the Francis Crick Institute in London!

More about YEN 2018..

As every year since 2012, YEN is organising a FREE conference on developmental biology. Register now for attending only, or for also being considered for a poster or oral presentation.
Abstract submission is closed, but you can still register for attendance only!

The YEN 2018 conference will be held at the Francis Crick Institute, London on Monday 14th May. This year, we are honoured to continue hosting the Sammy Lee Memorial Keynote Lecture, to be delivered by Professor Wolf Reik (Babraham Institute). We are very pleased to host two further speakers; Dr Germano Cecere (Institut Pasteur) and Dr Susan Cox (King’s College London). As well as three abstract-selected talk sessions and poster presentations, we will also be holding a Q&A panel session on “Publishing, Editing and Journals” with three professional panellists; Jennifer McLennan (eLife), Robert Kiley (Wellcome) and Katherine Brown (Development). Attendees submitting abstracts for talk presentations may also be considered for travel grants up to the value of £100.

  • talks from Dr Germano Cecere and Dr Susan Cox

  • from Professor Wolf Reik

  • from selected abstracts

  • with Jennifer McLennan (eLife), Robert Kiley (Wellcome), Katherine Brown (Development)

Committee

Our team is mainly composed of PhD students and young post-docs based in London

Charlotte Douglas

PhD Student at The Francis Crick Institute
charlotte.douglas@crick.ac.uk // Area of research: Sex chromosome biology

Alessia Caramello

PhD Student at The Francis Crick Institute
alessia.caramello@crick.ac.uk // Area of research: Brain development and neural stem cells

Sara Campinoti

PhD Student at The Francis Crick Institute
s.campinoti@ucl.ac.uk // Area of research: human pancreas development

Bryony Leeke

PhD Student at The Francis Crick Institute
bryony.leeke@crick.ac.uk // Area of research: Epigenetics

Lucy Culshaw

PhD Student at University College London
lucy.culshaw.15@ucl.ac.uk // Area of research: Neural tube defects

Matteo A. Molè

Research Associate at University of Cambridge
mam238@cam.ac.uk // Area of research: neural tube development

Silvia Perin

PhD student at University College London
s.perin@ucl.ac.uk // Area of research: gastrointestinal development & smooth muscle stem cells

Tapan Pipalia

PhD student at King’s College London
tapan.pipalia@kcl.ac.uk // Area of research: Stem Cell and Developmental Biology

Alfredo Sansone

Associate Editor at Nature Communications
alfredo.sansone@nature.com

Valdone Maciulyte

Laboratory Research Scientist at the Francis Crick Institute
valdone.maciulyte@crick.ac.uk // Area of research: Sex chromosome biology

Sophie Brumm

PhD Student at The Francis Crick Institute
Sophie.brumm@crick.ac.uk // Area of research: Human embryonic stem cells and embryo development

Lorena Garcia-Perez

PhD Student at The Francis Crick Institute
lorena.garcia-perez@crick.ac.uk // Area of research: Developmental biology

Marco Ortiz

PhD Student at The Francis Crick Institute
marco.ortiz@crick.ac.uk // Area of research: Neural stem cells

Nikolaos Angelis

PhD Student at The Francis Crick Institute
nikolaos.angelis@crick.ac.uk // Area of research: Intestinal Stem Cell Regulation

Oana Paun

PhD Student at The Francis Crick Institute
oana.paun@crick.ac.uk // Area of research: Human brain development

Eric Vazquez Ferrer

Research Associate at London Institute of Medical Sciences (LMS)
e.vazquez-ferrer@lms.mrc.ac.uk // Area of research: Embryonic Stem Cells, Primordial Germ Cells and Epigenetics

For any other information contact us here

Latest news